Flowertown Garden Club toasts 60 years at tea

  • Thursday, February 14, 2013

Flowertown Garden Club member, both past and present, gathered Monday at The Atrium at St. Paul’s Church to celebrate the club’s 60th anniversary.
Club President Vicki Burtt welcomed the members and guests. The invocation was given by Rev. John Scott, assistant rector of St. Paul’s.
Among the guests were many past presidents of the club.
Jan Martin, Chairman of the 60th Anniversary Committee delivered a brief history and highlighted some of the accomplishments of the club including the creation of the Blue Star Memorial garden at the intersection of Bacons Bridge Road, West Carolina and Trolley Road, and the town’s annual Treelighting Ceremony.
The tea also featured the reading of congratulatory correspondence from Sen. Sean Bennett. A letter from Gov. Nicki Haley arrived shortly after the tea so was not read at the tea but will be shared with members at the club’s next meeting.
Also arriving after the tea was a letter from Queen Elizabeth written at her direction by Lady-in-Waiting Mary Morrison. The club recently designed several flower arrangements and sent photos of the flowers to be included in a book of flower arrangements to be presented to the Queen in celebration of her 60th jubilee. The Flowertown Garden Club’s participation was all part of a friendly challenge issued by Burtt’s sister, who lives in England and is a member of the flower committee for the chapel in Dulwich, England.
Also present at Monday’s tea to help celebrate and offer her congratulations to the club was Maida Dantzler, president of the Garden Club of South Carolina.
Mayor and Mrs. Bill Collins attended with the Mayor reading a poem and telling the members how important the club has been to the culture and beauty of Summerville.
Maureen Minner received a certificate for the Civic Beautification Project to spruce up the front of the Cuthbert Community Center, a project she chaired in cooperation with the town.
Closing remarks were made by committee member Lynn Harrison.
Presidents of the Flowertown Garden Club
1953-54 Mrs. Marshall Jessen
1954-55 Mrs. Kenneth Webb
1955-56 Mrs. Frank Miller
1956-59 Mrs. D.M. Brandenburg
1959-60 Mrs. J.J. Goree
1960-61 Mrs. Frank Rehank Jr.
1961-63 Mrs. W.M. Eagerton
1963-65 Mrs. J.O. Murray
1965-66 Mrs. W.M. Eagerton
1966-67 Mrs. A.J. Freison
1967-69 Mrs. Fred Ballard
1969-70 Mrs. W.A. Macke
1970-73 Mrs. David Bell
1973-74 Mrs. D. M. Furru
1974-75 Mrs. Fred Ballard
1975-76 Mrs. Thomas Messervy
1976-78 Nrs. W.E. Barton Jr.
1978-80 Mrs. Frank Rehak Jr.
1980-81 Mrs. Billie S Hamlet
1981-82 Mrs. W. E. Burtom
1982-84 Mrs. Joel Bense
1984-86 Mrs. Frank Rehak Jr.
1986-88 Mrs. Randolph Rhodes
1988-89 Mrs. Samuel Cothran Jr.
1989-90 Mrs. Ronald S. Banks
1990-91 Mrs. Dwight J. Beavers
1991-92 Mrs. James Caldwell
1992-94 Mrs. Carl Sellers
1994-95 Mrs. Robert J. Hammill
1995-96 Mrs. W. Tom Miller
1996-97 Mrs. Joseph McGlynn
1997-98 Mrs. Charles B. DuBose
1998-99 Mrs. Randolph Rhodes
1999-00 Mrs. Fred Mellard
2000-01 Mrs. James B. Hester
2001-02 Mrs. Topper Avenel
2002-03 Mrs. James Martin
2003-04 Mrs. Faye Campbell
2004-06 Mrs. John McKissick
2006-07 Mrs. Randolph Rhodes
2007-08 Mrs. Faye Campbell
2008-09 Mrs. Joseph Rauton Jr.
2009-10 Mrs. James W. Minner
2010-11 Mrs. Stan Burtt
2011-12 Mrs. Terry Hauschilt
2012-13 Mrs. Stan Burtt

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.