Young artists unveil their creations

  • Monday, January 14, 2013

Trey Doctor Van Dyke, a student at Joe Pye Elementary School and DD2 Boardmember Charlie Stoudenmire unveil Trey’s creation, a multimedia mask.

Some of Dorchester School District 2’s best young artists unveiled their master works to an impressed and enthusiastic audience during Monday night’s meeting of the DD2 Board of Trustees.
Twenty-one young artists, representing twenty-one schools in the district, now have their top work displayed in the boardroom at the district office. It’s all part of a process that starts in May, noted DD2 Fine Arts Coordinator Larry Barnfield. Each school’s arts teachers are asked to choose student art works that best represent the arts curriculum of the school. These choices are then sent to the district where the top choices from each school are then chosen, Barnfield said.
Barnfield said that it is important to understand that this is not a contest; the students did not compete. Rather, this is a display of learning, of exemplifying the curriculum.
“This isn’t a competition,” Barnfield said. “This is about what we teach them throughout the entire year.”
The top twenty are displayed in the DD2 Boardroom all year before going back to become part of their schools’ art collections, Barnfield said.
One student’s magnum opus, chosen by Superintendent Joe Pye, becomes the district’s official holiday card for the year. The 2012 card will display a work, entitled “The Giving Tree”, by Sam Odenwood, a third grader at Flowertown Elementary.
The event is now in its thirteenth year, Barnfield said.
“This is always such a wonderful evening for me, a real highlight of my career,” Barnfield said. “This is the thirteenth year and I’ve been able to be here for every one – it’s been truly wonderful.”
The following students’ work are included in this year’s exhibit:  Lubov Kibikina, Alston Middle; Jessica Vance, Ashley Ridge High; Katelyn Schmedeke, Beech Hill Elementary; Morgan Baker, DuBose Middle; Cecelia Knecht, Eagle Nest Elementary; Maria DeLong, Fort Dorchester Elementary; Monique Martinez, Fort Dorchester High; Sam Odenwook, Flowertown Elementary; Liliya Korchevskaya, Gregg Middle; Trey Doctor-Van Dyke, Joseph R. Pye Elementary; Tracy Raines, Knightsville Elementary; Kobe Smith, Newington Elementary; Mina Harvey, Oakbrook Elementary; Abigail Winegar, Oakbrook Middle; Abigail Barnes, Rollings Middle School of the Arts; Abigail Pedraza Brovo, River Oaks Middle; Ben Smith, Summerville Elementary; Holly Shope, Summerville High; Aubrey Lewis, Spann Elementary; Irene Skow, William Reeves, Jr. Elementary; and lyanna Dean, Windsor Hill Arts Infused Elementary.
 “We have a great fine arts department doing wonderful things,” Pye said. “This is a wonderful opportunity for our schools to share the great talents of our students with the community.”

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.