18 teachers earn national accreditation

  • Thursday, January 17, 2013

Dorchester District 2 will start off 2013 with 18 more National Board Certified teachers.
The board of trustees and the district recognized this latest group, as well as ten more who were able to renew their national certifications, during the board’s Jan. 14 meeting.
There are now more than 150 Nationally Board Certified teachers working in
District 2.
National Board Certification is the most prestigious – and rigorous – professional certification a teacher can attain. The standards are high, the process long and detailed.
For a teacher to even make the decision to undertake going through the process is a major commitment, noted Superintendent Joe Pye.
“It’s a huge commitment not only by you but by your families,” Superintendent Joe Pye noted. “It’s a testament to your outstanding dedication to the profession and the children of this district.”
Two of the new teachers, Justin and Elizabeth Gumbiner, spoke briefly about the process and the insights it brought to them.  Justin is a teacher at Rollings Middle School of the Arts; Elizabeth at Summerville High School. The two are married, which means that among other things, they are able to run ideas by each other about school, teaching, and in this case, undergoing the national board certification process, Elizabeth said.
Justin said he believed the whole experience gave him a good insight into exactly how teachers can make a difference in children’s lives.
“I think it taught me how the lessons I teach can apply to society in general,” he said. “I think it also was a reflection of just how awesome our students really are – none of us would be here without them.”
In addition to the Gumbines, Adam Weiner, Sarah Shaughnessy, and Angela Kelley of Alston Middle School; Jennifer Fusco and Ryan Williams of Beech Hill Elementary School; Stacy Jackson and Marguerite Platt of Fort Dorchester High School; Margaret Skow of Rollings Middle School of the Arts; Marsha Betcher, Lisa Cunningham, Shannon Eugley, Brenda Ingram, Vikki Laidler, Rachele Lawhon, and Jamie Sturgill of William Reeves Elementary School all earned the certification.
In addition, Shelly Bostwick of the District Office, Jennifer Nix of Beech Hill Elementary School, Pamela Brunson of Rollings Middle School of the Arts, Laura Hendrick of Summerville High School, Shannon Kowalski of Knightsville Elementary School, Lisa Kelien and Kimberly O’Leary of Fort Dorchester Elementary School, Irene Mazell of Ashley Ridge High School, Paul Buyer of Fort Dorchester High School, and Deborah Malinoski of Summerville Elementary School all earned their National Board certification renewals.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.