Oakbrook Middle School wins district title

  • Thursday, January 24, 2013

Oakbrook claimed the 2013 District Two Middle School Wrestling Championship Jan. 15. PROVIDED

Two undefeated middle school wrestling teams met Jan. 15 to compete for the Dorchester District 2 championship.
The Oakbrook and DuBose teams both entered the match with a record of 4-0, having won all their prior duals matches by decisive margins.
The Eagles jumped off to early lead in the title match, winning the first four matches by pin. Oakbrook then rode that momentum to a 62-39 victory.
 “We had 10 pins and one tech fall, which shows how much our boys stepped up to the challenge,” Oakbrook coach Charles Hudgens said. “I am extremely proud of how focused our boys got around this match with the understanding that Dubose is a good, tough team that has several state qualifiers. We knew we had to come out strong early and there was going to be a few key matches throughout the lineup. Without a doubt, our guys in the key matchups really stepped up and delivered for the team in a big way.”
The win capped off a dominant season for the Eagles.  On the year, the team outscored their opponents 353 to 149.
It was also a turnaround season for the Eagles, which went 0-5 last season. Under the leadership of Hudgens and assistant coaches Skip Parker and Andrew Bishop, the Oakbrook team not only claimed the district championship, it also qualified five wrestlers for the state middle school tournament: AJ Gilvary, Drew Parker, Jonathan Parker, Alonzo Jenkins and Tristan Mallory.
Other members of the Oakbrook team are Jaquan Hicks, Tyler Huber, Josh DuBois, Kobi Bell, Isaiah Wilson, Zach DuBois, Jahnari Brown, Ryan Stetler, Tywonne Branch, Chris Weatherford, Robert Cameron, Jacob Ponte, Trevor Collins, Alec Stetler, Brandon Barr, Matthew Ponte, Branden Bowdoin, Thomas Kilcullen, D’Shon Hobbs, Austin Brunt, Jordan Goings, Micheal Belton, Justin Springer, Jason Harrison, Jordan Bledsoe, Christian Wade, Chandler Townsend and Javier Toro.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.