Wilkerson rakes in the honors

  • Thursday, February 21, 2013

Summerville’s Brandon Wilkerson has been named the Region 8-AAAA Boys’ Basketball Player of the Year. He was also named to the S.C. Basketball Coaches Association 4-A Boys All-state Team and invited to participate in the association’s 2013 North-South All-star Game. ROGER LEE/JOURNAL SCENE

Green Wave forward Brandon Wilkerson has received some high praise.
Wilkerson is one of only three players from the Lowcountry to be named to the South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association Class AAAA Boys’ All-state team. Goose Creek’s Dantez Bennamon and Stratford’s Demetre Rivers are the other Lowcountry players who made the cut.
In all, only 15 athletes were named to the team. Others receiving the honor are Jameel Taylor (TL Hanna), Maurice Daniels (Dorman), Megik Henderson (Wade Hampton), Anthony Johnson (South Pointe), Jaylen Reid (Rock Hill), Justin McKie (Irmo), Detrek browning (Irmo), Perry Dozier Jr. (Spring Valley), Nygel Gates (Lexington), Shawn Moore (Aiken), Reggie Bonner (Conway) and Auntrell Holloway (Sumter).
Wilkerson has also been selected to play in the North-South All-star game that features some of the state’s best seniors from across all four classifications and has been named the Region 8-AAAA Player of the Year.
Summerville coach Greg Elliott says Wilkerson deserves the praise and then some.
“Brandon is a kid who just got better each year and he was very humble about any personal recognition,” Elliott said. “He rebounded the ball well and either started most of our fastbreaks or found someone to finish them. He is a great kid, an excellent student and a great ambassador for our team.” 
Wilkerson started 77 games in his three seasons with the Green Wave varsity team. He scored 951 points and helped Summerville earn three consecutive Region 8-AAAA Championshps. This year marks the third time he has received all-region honors.
2013 All-region list
Wilkerson is one of four Summerville players named to this year’s 8-AAAA Boys All-region team. Juniors John Jenkins and Christian Kalacanic and senior Chris McKinnon also made the cut.
Fort Dorchester and Ashley Ridge both had two players make the team. Eric Hayward and Baptiste Staggers represent the Patriots on the list while Romelo Doctor and Fred Weeks represent the Swamp Foxes.
Others receiving all-region honors include Bluffton’s C.J. Frazier, B.J. Hill and Demetrius Smalls; Beaufort’s Kendrick Colvin and Thomas Parker; and Colleton County’s Rashee Hodges.
Elliott was named the Region Coach of the Year. After leaving Hilton Head High School to take the Summerville job, he led the Green Wave boys to a region championship in 2011, 2012 and 2013. In each of those years, the region Player of the Year came from Summerville. Elliott has also now coached three different Summerville athletes who were selected for the North-South game: Wilkerson, J.D. Tucker and Mario Pendarvis.
Contact Roger Lee @ 873-9424 ext. 213 or rlee@journalscene.com

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.