Outstanding students honored at Trident Technical College

  • Thursday, May 23, 2013

Provided Phi Theta Kappa received one of three Awards of Distinction given to student organizations at Trident Technical College’s Awards Day ceremony on May 3. Pictured are (front row, left to right) Noel Johnson (Summerville), Tiffany Vazquez (North Charleston), Pamela Hicks (Hanahan), Cassandra Romero-Tobia (Summerville), Katerina Barrie, Sherrill Wheeler (Summerville), Pamela Poelker, Mozell Rollerson (Goose Creek), (back row, left to right) Teresa Sullivan, Paul Binion, Anthony DiBenedetto (Summerville), Christine Solomon (Summerville), Katheryn Cousin-Brennan (Goose Creek), Thu Nguyen Dinh, Nathalie Cantillo Molina (Goose Creek), Reilly Chapman, Freemont Hinkle (North Charleston) and Daryl Milligan (North Charleston).


Cassandra Romero-Tobia of Summerville earned Trident Technical College’s highest honor May 3 – The President’s Award/Kurtzman Prize.
The prize includes a monetary gift given to a graduating student on the basis of academic achievement, contributions to the college and community service
Several Trident Technical College students and faculty members were recognized for their outstanding achievement and involvement in student organizations at TTC’s Awards Day ceremony held at the college’s Main Campus.
Josie Sauppe of Summerville was awarded the S.C. State Credit Union Award, which also includes a monetary gift, by CEO Rick Hammond who was on hand to present it.
The award isgiven to a returning student who demonstrates a commitment to service, exhibits perseverance toward completing higher educational goals, displays commendable personal attributes, and serves as an exemplary role model to other students.
The Merit Award winners were also recognized by TTC President Dr. Mary Thornley for their academic and personal excellence, identifying each recipient as the top student in his or her program of study. Merit Award winners include:
Sonja Kay Dupont, Accounting; Cassandra Romero-Tobia, Associate in Arts; Jillian Rowan, Culinary Arts; Jose Luis Pineiro, General Technology – Electrician Automation and Industrial; Anna Moranski, Human Services; Tracy Fish, Management –  Human Resources; Sherrill Wheeler, Paralegal; Michelle G. Hohn, Early Childhood Development; Kimberly A. Hinerman, Medical Assisting.
There are approximately 45 student organizations at TTC in which students have the opportunities to network with other students who have similar interests, gain additional practice in their fields of study, interact with future colleagues, and offer time and energy to community service. Three organizations were recognized with Outstanding Student Organization awards.
The following students who were recognized as Outstanding Members of Student Organizations include Kimberly Beckman, Pharmacy Technician Association; Cassandra Romero-Tobia, Phi Theta Kappa; Dorothy Crum, Radiologic Technology Association; and Brandi Herchak, Society for Dental Assisting.
Sherrill Wheeler was one of the 11 TTC students named to the 2013 edition of “Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities” and also recognized as national outstanding campus leaders. Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory selected students based on academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success. Wheeler joined an elite group selected from more than 1,000 institutions of higher learning across the country.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.