DCSO honors its own

  • Thursday, June 27, 2013

PFC Johnny Jefferson receives the DCSO Lifesaving Award from Sheriff L.C. Knight for an act performed in the line of duty that, through disregard for personal safety, resulted in the saving of a life.


The Dorchester County Sheriff’s Office honored its own Tuesday at the Wescott Country Club during the DCSO Honor Guard annual awards luncheon.
Sheriff L.C. Knight and his guests – Retired Major Ernest Moultrie, Judge Tera Richardson, Chief Deputy Sam Richardson, Summerville Police Chief Bruce Owens, Summerville Honor Guard Commander Lt. Doug Wright, Major john Garrison and Cpl, Adam Sutton – honored seven for service and three for special honors.
Lt. Shawn Gibbons was honored with the Purple Heart Award for both a severe gunshot would he received when shot by an adversary in February of 2008 as well as an earlier injury in 2001 when an adversary attempted to kill him with a motor vehicle putting Gibbons in the hospital with a broken pelvis.
Pfc. Johnny Jefferson was awarded the Lifesaving Award for putting himself at grave risk to save another’s life.
In December 2012, responding to a shooting call in Summerville, Jefferson was faced with a large crowd of about 60 people. He was told a shooting victim was inside the residence but when he attempted to enter was told by several males that “police were not welcome, only EMS.”
Jefferson advised the men that he was qualified to give first aid and entered the residence where he found a man lying in a pool of blood with a gunshot wound to the leg. Jefferson, without concern for his own safety, took control of the situation and directed bystanders inside the residence to give him room to work, get towels, which he used as a tourniquet, and he managed to keep the crime scene as clear as was possible.
According to EMS, the victim would have died within minutes had it not been for Jefferson’s quick and decisive action.
For a long career of service, the demonstration of brave and selfless leadership and adherence to the highest ethical principals, Retired Major Ernest Moultrie was awarded the Leadership Award.
The seven honored for service included Lt. Robert Biddle, Lt. William Bense. Sgt. Keith Hunt, Cpl. Adam Sutton, Cpl. Lewis Judy, PFC James DeLong and PFC Jason Jones.
The service award is for “giving many hours of your time to represent the Dorchester County Sheriff’s Office in a professional manner. You, as a Honor Guard member, have displayed the highest devotion to duty for the year 2012.”
The luncheon is put on and paid for every year by sponsors. This year’s sponsors were Blue Knights International, The Golf Club at Wescott Plantation, Uniforms by John and Digital Jewelry/Colucci Jewelers.
In the center of the room sat a small table, set for the luncheon, with its chairs tipped toward the table. This was in memory of Deputy Gary Blackman, Cpl. Michael Deese and Deputy K-9 Sonja, all who died in the line of duty.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.