Cobb and Balao lead 2013 Cuthbert Classic field

  • Friday, November 8, 2013

Provided As always, the Cuthbert Classic attracted a strong field of golf enthusiasts.

Summerville Country Club hosted the 2013 Cuthbert Classic Oct. 27.

The annual golf tournament is held each year in memory of June Cuthbert and Tommy Cuthbert, two beloved friends of the club who gave so much to the community and the game of golf. The tournament uses a two-man, captain’s choice format and offers prizes for both a “June Cuthbert” Low Net Division and a “Tommy Cuthbert” Low Gross Division.

“We want to thank all the players and hole sponsors for supporting this event,” club golf pro Bray Blanton said. “More than $3,500 was raised to benefit the Dorchester Free School Board’s Tommy Cuthbert Scholarship Fund which is awarded annually to a deserving high school graduate.”

The winners of the low gross “Tommy Cuthbert” division were Mike Cobb and Andy Balao, who shot a low round of 57. Jess Cuthbert and Jed McCluen came in at 60 to claim runner-up honors. Trailing in the division were Marc Horne and Tim Cone (60); David Bordiuk and Robert Lindley (61); Gary Brewer and Jason Boutin (61); Mark Shaughnessy and Mike Moseley (62); Ce Buddin and Robbie Pritchard (62); and David Connor and Bob Merryman (62).

The team of Cory Deering and David Tackett won the low net “June Cuthbert” division while the team of Barry Connor and Billy Long claimed runner-up honors. Rounding out the Top 8 for that division were the teams of John Bowers and Bob Flowers; Allen Traylor and Jeff Traylor; Patrick Pye and Bob Baker; Jim Boyle and Randy Henderson; Walter Cuthbert and Shaun Thomas; and Bufort Blanton and Stephen Chellis.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.