Summerville girls win Lower State race

  • Friday, November 8, 2013

Dorchester Two runners were impressive during the Class AAAA Lower State Qualifier held at Cane Bay High School Nov. 2.

The Summerville girls’ cross country team came in with a score of 62 points to win their race. Meanwhile, Ashley Ridge placed second in the boys’ race with 77 points, well behind winner Wando.

Abby Bozarth led the way for the Lady Green Wave, finishing in fourth place overall with a 19:24.34 time. Anya Bunao finished in 19:40.85 to place seventh and Renee Bourgeios also cracked the Top 10 by finishing in 20:01.25 to place ninth.

Trailing for Summerville were Danielle Lodge (20:52.01), Lauren Halter (21:48.73), Betsy Bullock (22:17.72) and Savannah Baird (22:49.31).

The Ashley Ridge girls placed fourth with 98 points while Fort Dorchester placed eighth and Cane Bay 10th.

Ashley Ridge’s Sophie Belhassen finished in 19:13.94 to place third overall. Autumn Stone (20:32.20) led the way for the Fort while Danielle Cruz-Dennis (22:05.76) led Cane Bay.

Ashley Ridge’s Savannah Sutton (20:50.14) and Alex Cuttino (21:04.73) and Fort Dorchester’s Allison Sorrenson (21:09.46) also finished in the Top 25.

The Ashley Ridge boys were led by Jackson Ellenburg, who came in at 16:08.07 to place second overall. Tyler Ohsfeldt also cracked the Top 10, finishing in 16:58.76 to place ninth.

Trailing for the Swamp Foxes were Doug Torgerson (17:18.16), James Williams (17:28.42), Caleb Dorrity (17:47.02), Logan Ruddick (18:29.08 and Will Henley (18:48.28.

Fort Dorchester placed fourth with 91 points while Summerville placed eighth and Cane Bay 11th.

Thomas Pittman (17:02.68) led the Patriots while Peter Edwards (17:55.88) led the Green Wave and Jordan Schultz (19:07.79) led the Cobras.

Fort Dorchester’s Koh Matsumoto (17i:04.95), Alexander Armstrong (17:11.07), Jesse Tortorella (17:34.00) and Stephen Gillette (17:35.18) also finished in the Top 25.

Contact Roger Lee @ 873-9424 ext. 213 or rlee@journalscene.com

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.