Smith garners Patriot MVP Award

  • Monday, January 14, 2013

Senior wide receiver T.J. Smith has been named the 2012 MVP of the Patriot football program.
Fort Dorchester High School held its annual Football Banquet Sunday night to honor players for their contributions to the Patriot football team. Varsity letters as well as several awards for team superlatives were handed out during the event.
Smith, a three-time varsity letterman, garnered the most prestigious award.
“Every year selecting an MVP is tough because we always have multiple athletes who are deserving,” Fort Dorchester coach Steve LaPrad said. “However, T.J. is a guy who deserves the world and I hope he gets it. He is just so outstanding in so many ways. He is a guy who everyone likes being around. Other players strive to be like him. When he stays after practice to put in extra work, others stay. On top of that, he is an amazing receiver. I can’t think of any we have had who were better or who were a better person.”
As a senior, Smith had 873 receiving yards and scored eight TDs. He also rushed for a TD and had nearly 140 kick/punt return yards.
His junior season, the receiver made 61 catches for 939 yards and nine TDs to earn the Fort’s Iron Patriot Award.
This year, that award went to Patriot quarterback Baptiste Staggers, who completed 84 pass attempts for 1,318 yards and nine TDs while also rushing for 457 yards and four TDS.

2012 Fort Dorchester High School Football Awards

Academic Award- Josh Lightburn
Outstanding Offensive Lineman- Tyese McDonald and Nick Tononi
Outstanding Defensive Lineman- Myles White
Outstanding Specialty Teams Player- Corey Rawlings
Outstanding Offensive Back- Charles Loftland and Daitwan Commodore
Outstanding Defensive Back- Daquan Buksha
Outstanding Receiver- T.J. Smith
Outstanding Linebacker- Kevyn Flores
Outstanding JV Offensive Player- Coby Garrett
Outstanding JV Defensive Player- Daveon Brown
Outstanding Freshman- John Rouse
Outstanding Sophomore- Eurndraus Bryant
Purple Heart Award- Josh Hamilton
Mr. Hustle Award- Kenny Fenton-Griffith
Iron Patriot Award- Baptiste Staggers
Most Valuable Player- T.J. Smith

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.