Breath of Spring Flower Show set for March 1-3

  • Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The theme of the 2012 Breath of Spring Flower Show paid tribute to the 80th anniversary of Cypress Gardens. The 2013 Breath of Spring Flower Show is March 1-3 in Dean Hall at Cypress Gardens. DAN BROWN/JOURNAL SCENE

The date for this year’s award winning Breath of Spring Flower Show at Cypress Gardens has been set.
The “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow,” standard flower show has been scheduled for March 1-3 at Dean Hall on the grounds of Cypress Gardens. It is sponsored by the Belle Isle Garden Club, the Camellia Garden Club of Greater Charleston, the Garden Club of Otranto, and the Town and Village Garden Club.
The flower show is open to the public with exhibition hours running from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily.
Admission to the show is included in a $10 admission to Cypress Gardens.
Horticulture and design judging will be held on Thursday, Feb. 28 from 8 to 11 a.m.
Last year, nearly 250 entries graced the three categories in a flower show that celebrated the 80th anniversary of Cypress Gardens, with 194 horticulture entries, 48 design entries and five special exhibit entries filling Dean Hall.
Cypress Gardens first opened to the public in 1932 when the old rice paddies and retention ponds from Dean Hall Plantation were donated by then owner Benjamin Kitteredge. Kitteridge purchased the 80 acres of swamp, gardens and old rice fields in 1909 as a piece of land to be used for duck hunting.
The grounds were first used as a rice plantation in the 1720’s according to historical records. It was a flourishing business that grew for years. The structure on the estate was known as the Nesbit House. A hundred years later Dean Hall was built.  
The Breath of Spring Flower Show won a National Garden Club award in 2010 for both the show and the flower show schedule.  
Winners of the 2012 Breath of Spring Flower Show were:
Award of Horticultural Excellence – Linda Martin.
Award of Merit – Wesley Fisher (Camellia), Brenda Davis (Vine) and Scotty Yenson (Daffodil).
Grower’s Choice – Linda Martin and Laurette Sweet.
Arboreal Award – Betty Black.
Award of Design Excellence – Dee Short.
Tri-Color Award – Betty Gourdin.
Designer’s Choice Award – Dee Short.
Petite Award – Pat Johnson.
Educational Award – Ann Yarborough.
For more information about the Breath of Spring Flower Show visit the show’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/springflowershow.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.