Wrestlers named all-stars

  • Thursday, February 28, 2013

The Lowcountry will be well represented at the S.C. Wrestling Coaches Association 2013 North-South All-star Wrestling Classic.
Scheduled for March 1-2 at North Myrtle Beach High School, the event will feature many of the top senior high school wrestlers in the state, including some All-American grapplers. The Classic has great appeal to wrestling fans because it typically features matchups not seen during the regular wrestling season.
Athletes from all high school league classifications (A through AAAA) participate so the event provides opportunities for the top grapplers from different classifications who compete in similar weight divisions to go head-to-head.
Five Summerville-area wrestlers and a local coach have been invited to participate as part of the 4A/1A South all-star team.
Summerville’s Gavin Perkins, Ashley Ridge’s Zach Armstrong, Cane Bay’s Albert Ednilao and Fort Dorchester’s Daquan Buksha and Austin Ziliak will wrestle for the South team. Wando’s Dakota Dahabi and Stratford’s Nicholas Young and Noah Shuler were also named to the team.
Summerville coach Darryl Tucker will head up the coaching staff for the South All-stars.
“Being selected for this by the other coaches in the state is a real honor,” Tucker said. “It’s nice to know you have the respect of your peers. The wrestlers are all seniors so most of them have wrestled for several years and that means the level of competition will be high. One of the best things about it is it allows these wrestlers to go out on a high note.”
Joining him on the coaching staff will be Swansea’s Eric Pack, Aynor’s John Morello and Bamberg Ehrhardt’s Larry Long.
“We are all looking forward to it,” Tucker said. “I’m looking forward to being there for Gavin’s final match and to working with the Beaufort heavyweights who have just hammered teams the last few years. The bonus for me is knowing that after this weekend Summerville won’t have to deal with those heavyweights anymore.”
The North All-stars will be coached by Ridge View’s Randy Twigg, Greer’s Chad Nelson, Powdersvile’s Sean McNinney and McCracken’s Ed Purdy.
Representing the Lowcountry on the 3A/2A South team will be Hanahan’s JJ Johnson and Dennis Flores and Bishop England’s Malcom Nazon.
The event will begin at 6 p.m. March 1 with the 4A/1A North Team competing against the 3A/2A South Team. Then, the 3A/2A North Team will wrestle against the 4A/1A South Team. At noon the next day, the winners of those two matches will wrestle and the losers from the day before will go head-to-head.
Contact Roger Lee @ 873-9424 ext. 213 or rlee@journalscene.com

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.