Fort Dorchester defender named Mr. Hockey

  • Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Fort Dorchester senior defender Julian DiPaolo was named Mr. Hockey for the 2012-13 South Carolina Scholastic Hockey Association season. ROGER LEE

Fort Dorchester and Summerville both had two players named to the 2013 All-state hockey teams.
Fort Dorchester defender Julian DiPaolo was named Mr. Hockey for the 2013 South Carolina Scholastic Hockey Association season. Joining him on the all-state team is Fort forward Chandler Murphy, a first-team honoree.
Summerville forward Nick Wieszhowiak was also named to the All-state first-team squad while Green Wave forward Richard Winter was named to the second-team squad.
Only 11 players in the state received All-state honors this season.
Stratford’s Chuck Ellis was named the Coach of the Year.
Each team in the league announced its Rookie of the Year during last weekends’ State Championship Tournament. Zach Potter is the Patriots’ top rookie while Jonathan Dashnaw was named Summerville’s Rookie of the Year. Other first-year players receiving the honor were Cole Jinkins (BE/PG), Dylan Arndt (Columbia), Cole Rossi (Greenville North), Chandler Judd (Greenville South), Paul Hawkinson (Lexington), Madison Ellis (Stratford), and Chris Hicks (Wando).
Fort Dorchester and Summerville both had four players selected to participate in the 2013 All-star Game. Justin LeBlanc, Patrick McCardle, Blake Thompson and DiPaolo represented Fort Dorchester at the event. Callum Smyth, Ben Sleeper, Winter and Wiezkowiak represented Summerville in the all-star game.
Each team selected its own players to participate in the all-star weekend skills competition. Representing Fort Dorchester were Blake Thompson (hardest shot competition), DiPaolo (sharp shooter), LeBlanc (fastest skater) and Ean Hickman (goalie). Summerville sent Nick Wieszowiak (hardest shot), Keith Ayer (sharp shooter), Richard Winter (fastest skater) and Brett Hawkins (goalie) to the competition.
The association also honored players who have participated in the league for four years and handed out some special honors.
Fort Dorchester’s DiPaolo, LeBlanc, McCardle, Todd Braga and Jacob John will all graduate with four varsity letters as will Summerville’s Winter and Ayer.
Rick Ramaley, who has a decade of service with the Lexington Fusion Hockey Club, received the league’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Fenton Lang of the Greenville program received the Dedicated Coach Award.
The Greater Greenville Hockey Association was also honored for the work it has done with player development in the Greenville area.
2012-13 S.C. Scholastic Hockey Association Honors
Coach of the Year: Chuck Ellis (Stratford)
Mr. Hockey: Julian DiPaolo (Fort Dorchester)
All-state First Team
Forward Chandler Murphy (FD)
Forward Jonathan Busolin (Stratford)
Forward Nick Wieszkowiak (Summerville)
Defender Brendan Ward (Bishop England/Porter-Gaud)
Defender Luke Bauer (Greenville North)
Goalie Brandon Brown (BE/PG)
All-state Second Team
Forward Aaron Beaver (Greenville South)
Forward Chip Ellis (Stratford)
Forward Richard Winter (Summerville)
Defender Julian DiPaolo (FD)
Defender Chris Emma (Greenville North)
Goalie Chris Otap (Stratford)
Contact Roger Lee @ 873-9424 ext. 213 or rlee@journalscene.com

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.