All incumbents file for town election

  • Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Of the four municipal positions up for election this November – one Commissioner of Public Works and three Town Council seats representing Districts 1, 3 and 5 – all of the incumbents have filed for reelection.
The incumbents for Town Council are Aaron Brown, District 1, Walter Bailey, District 3, and Kima Garten-Schmidt, District 5. George Tupper is the incumbent Commissioner of Public Works.
“I would love to serve my town for another four years,” said Councilwoman Garten-Schmidt.
She said improving town infrastructure and relationships with area officials would be the focus of her second term if she gets reelected.
“I think this council works together well, better than it ever has,” said Councilman Bailey. “We have a lot of good things in the works and I’d like to continue with those.”
He cited recent business growth, the fire and police departments and the annexation of Fort Dorchester as areas he would like to continue working on.
If reelected, the councilmembers will continue for another four years and the commissioner for another six.
The filing period opened noon Aug. 7 and will close at the same time Sept. 6.
The municipal election will be held on Election Day, Nov. 5.


Notice about comments:

The Journal Scene is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not The Journal Scene.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads

The Journal Scene

© 2015 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.