Cobb reclaims Chick Miler trophy

  • Friday, May 30, 2014

Photo by Billy Schimpf Mike Cobb hits out of a bunker on his way to claiming the 2014 Chick Miler Invitational Championship.


After years of being edged out for the prize, Mike Cobb finally won his second Chick Miler Invitational Championship.

Cobb first won the annual Memorial Day Weekend golf tournament held at Summerville Country Club back in 1997. In the years since, he has been a regular in the championship flight and finished in the Top 5 numerous times including a second-place finish last year.

On Sunday he came in with a 3-under-par 210 to win the 41st annual tournament and reclaim the Chick Miler trophy.

“I normally don’t get to practice much beforehand but this year I was able to come out here three or four days before the tournament,” Cobb said. “I had a fast start and was four-under through the first five holes. Then on the last day I came out slow. I made a boogie on 12 and a double on 13 but I got back to one over at the turn and back to even after 11 and hung on.”

Cobb has been a SCC member since he was 8 but typically only gets to play once a week these days. The father of two is a former Summerville High School golfer who won the region tournament his senior season.

He held off a group of Chick Miler veterans in this year’s championship flight, including some former tournament champions. Cobb claimed the low-medalist honor with a round of 68 the first day of the tournament. He came in at 69 the next day and shot a 73 the final round.

Jeff Traylor trailed Cobb by only a stroke at the end of the first day. He fell behind Saturday, but made a strong push for the title Sunday by matching Cobb’s low-medalist round.

He finished at 213 and as the tournament runner-up. Mike Wilson also shot a 68 in the third round, but had to settle for third place with a 214 score.

Trailing in the 2014 championship flight were Michael Moseley (215), Tadd Brown (215), Bill Smunk (215), Lushen Evans (220), Will Hightower (220), Darrel Connelly (221), Sam Moore (222), Brooks Harlow (223), Mike Goodwin (223), Chris Terry (224), Andy Balad (226), Marc Horne (228) and Jim Mutispaugh (228).

This year 208 golfers participated in the tournament.

2014 Chick Miler Flight Top 5 Scores

Championship: Mike Cobb (210), Jeff Traylor (213), Mike Wilson (214), Michael Moseley (215) and Tadd Brown (215).

1st Flight: Kent Hall (223), Mo York (226), Greg McKenzie (226), Sam Myers (226) and Marty Bunch (227).

2nd Flight: David Connor (228), Michael Allegrucci (229), Ryan Castle (229), Mike Zokle (230) and Darryl Tucker (232).

3rd Flight: Frank Piccione (236), Ed Galbavy (237), Brian Lott (238), Dane Henderson (239) and Barron Knight (239).

4th Flight: Rusty Woodall (239), Jeff Ebernickle (242), Craig English (242), David Terry (242) and George Frye (243).

5th Flight: Terrence Jenkins (241), Grange Cuthbert (245), Richard Moore (249), Kirk Woods (249) and Wilson Rogers (249).

6th Flight: Bob Burris (251), Jon Horne (253), Kenny Walker (254), Chris Ingram (254) and Kyle Boczkowski (257).

7th Flight: Crazy Mizell (255), Dewey Nettles (258), Ryan Zipter (259), Jeff Haselden (260) and Bob Stall (262).

8th Flight: Howard Jackson (260), Scott Weathers (262), Robert Bloomberg (265), Terry Jenkins (267) and Steve Marek (270).

9th Flight: Ned Ginsburg (263), Bob Hampe (265), Cary Collins (270), Ron Clayton (271) and Jim Hemenway (272).

10th Flight: Buzzy Bramble (277), Randy Henderson (279), Jim West (279) Dan Sweat (280 and Mark Boyd (280).

11th Flight: Jason Masure (280), Archie O’Neal (282), Charlie Peacock (286), Steve Smith (288) and Scott Bragg (293).

12th Flight: Ed O’Donnell, Jack Tupper, Bob Sideikas, Richard Petty and Roger Craig.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Journal Scene

© 2016 The Journal Scene an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.