The South Carolina Scholastic Hockey Association released its list of honors for the 2007-08 season during its championship tournament last weekend.

Summerville Head Coach Skip Burt garnered the Coach of the Year Award, just one of many honors bestowed on the Summerville club. After Burt turned around a team that struggled early in the season, club official Kim Allen nominated him for the honor, which he received based on a vote made by his peers.

ìWe are really proud of Skip,î Allen said. ìHe doesn't even have a child on our team any more, but he continues to give us so much.î

Stratford forward Casey Moneer skated away with the leagueís top honor for players as he was named the 07-08 Mr. Hockey. He was also named All-state second team and played in the all-star game. Moneer led the Knights in points this season with 12 after scoring six goals and making six assists.

Green Wave Junior Trevor Miller was named to the All-state first team and was selected to participate in the league all-star game. Despite missing three games and spending most of his time as a defender, Miller finished the regular season ranked fourth on the team in points, with six assists and four goals.

Others named to the All-state first team are Fort Dorchester forward Jason Cliff, Columbia forward Sterling Brown, Greenville forward Steve Zielinski, Lexington defender Loren DellíKso and Lexington goalie Leighton Jacobus. Cliff was one of the most productive forwards in the league, scoring 11 goals for the Patriots in the regular season and adding six assists.

Joining Moneer on the All-state second team are Lexingtonís Eric Johns, Wandoís Josh Wall, Private Schoolís Taylor Paul, Wandoís Dalton Betzen and Columbiaís Mitch Cronin.

Joining Miller in representing Summerville at the all-star game were Anthony Kalafus, Andrew Robertson and Brian Cobb. Fort Dís John Ribes was the only Lowcountry goalie selected for the all-star game. Other Fort representatives were Cliff, Tyler Durham, Cody Gaskins and Jonathan Perry.

Goose Creek all-stars were Evan Doucette, Chris Stiles, Cody Fontenot and Gabbi Szemly. Stratford all-stars were Moneer, Dillon DeFibaugh, William Mayck and Nicholas Pontieri.

Rookie of the Year honors were presented to Fort Dorchesterís Matthew Fernandez, Goose Creekís Sebastian Holman, Stratfordís Michael Kirby and Summervilleís Paul Rattenbury.

Contact Roger Lee at 873-9424 ext. 213 or