The top seeds claimed both championships during the Dorchester District Two Middle School tournament Feb. 2.

Oakbrook won the 2008 Menís Championship Feb. 2 at Fort Dorchester High School with a 64-29 victory over River Oaks.

In the Womenís title game, Gregg defeated DuBose 22-14.

The Oakbrook men took charge early during their title game, jumping out to a 10-0 lead. The team continued to stifle the River Oaksí shooters in the opening period to pull ahead 26-3. Oakbrook took a 35-13 lead into the half and a 50-23 lead into the fourth period.

Oakbrook finished the regular season with an 8-2 record to earn the top seed for the tournament. The team was also awarded the Sportsmanship trophy. Coach Daniel Bryant attributes the success to teamwork.

ìI kept 18 players on my roster and each player contributed to the team in their own special way,î Bryant said. ìThe championship trophy is nice, but it was much better to take home the sportsmanship trophy.î

Oakbrook team members include Shemar Wilkerson, James Whatley, Chris Rouse, Dustin Wade, Ethan Long, Treavon Doctor, Kyle Nettuno, Dino Shafer, Devron Glenn, De"Andre Ishmael, Rashaad Smith, DeAngelo Murray, Coker Adams, Timothy Smith, Arnold Mosely, Troy Bryant, Aaron Summers and Devon Duncan.

Gregg finished its regular season with a 6-4 record. Rollings and DuBose both finished at 5-5, while Alston and River Oaks finished at 3-7.

The Gregg women earned the top seed for their tournament on a tiebreaker after both the Lady Mustangs and DuBose finished the regular season with an 8-2 record. Trailing in the regular season standings were Alston (6-4), Rollings (6-4), River Oaks (2-8) and Oakbrook (0-10). Members of the Gregg womenís team are Diamond Bishop, Brianna Boyd, Lauren Brannen, Kierrah Brown, Lauren Escobedo, Chekerra Goodwine, Laura Kaminski, Mekayla Mehaffey, Brittany Powell, Jessica Smart, Alexis Volpe and Madison Walb. The team is coached by Brooke Matthews, Jennifer Mehaffey and Lisa Smith.

Rollings was presented with the Sportsmanship trophy for the womenís division.

Contact Roger Lee at 873-9424 ext. 213 or