Simmons Barber Shop Scene in History

Several readers wrote in to identify the above photo as the new Flowertown and Newington elementary schools. "I am pretty sure they opened in 1977, so the picture couldn't have been much before that," said Joan Naugle of Summerville. "When they were built in the early 1970s, Flowertown housed K to 2nd-graders, while Newington housed 3rd- through 6th-grades. The walkway between the two buildings led to the shared cafeteria/all-purpose room."

40 Years Ago

On July 2, 1977, the R.C. Wood baseball team defeated the Custom Woodcraft team 8-4 to win the 1977 Palmetto Majors Championship at Doty Field.

On July 8, 1977, the Summerville High School head basketball coach resigned after coaching for 17 years.

30 Years Ago

On July 4, 1987, Larry Caudill won the Miller American/Texas Pete 100 Charlotte/Daytona Dash feature race.

The July 8, 1987 edition of the Journal-Scene reported that Summerville resident George Struzyna was one of three people in the world recently inducted into the Society of German Engineers.

25 Years Ago

The July 3, 1992 edition of the Journal-Scene reported that Mrs. Kay Frances McMillan, science teacher at St. George High School, was chosen as the 1992 South Carolina Nominee for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching.

On July 4, 1992, for the first time in 16 years there was to be no community fireworks show in Summerville.

10 Years Ago

On July 2, 2007, Summerville hosted the SC Dixie Youth Majors District 9 subdistrict tournament.

On July 3, 2007, Paul Campbell won the District 44 Senate primary runoff against Representative Shirley Hinson.

1 Year Ago

On July 7, 2016, GBT Realty Corporation purchased a 10.5-acre site off Interstate 26 for $1.85 million to build the state's first BJ's Wholesale store.

The July 8, 2016 edition of the Journal reported that Dr. George W. McDaniel, former executive director of Drayton Hall for 26 years, received the Governor's Award in Historic Preservation, making him the first in the state to receive both that award and the SC Environmental Awareness Award.

Compiled by Branden Jefferson for the Journal Scene.