Cummins Seminary celebrates graduation

Bishop Alphonza Gadsden, Dr. Julius Barnes, Rev. Lorraine Bradley, Marilyn McKinley, Sandra Capers, Dr. Douglas Kelly, and Bishop William White.

On Saturday, May 12 at the Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Summerville, Cummins Theological Seminary held its commencement.

The Very Rev. Dr. Julius Barnes, president of the seminary, on behalf of the faculty and Board of Trustees of the Seminary conferred the Master of Divinity degree to Lorraine Fields Bradley and Sandra Jenkins Capers and the Certificate in Biblical Studies to Marilyn Loretta McKinley. The Rev. Dr. Douglas F. Kelly, Professor Emeritus of The Reformed Theological Seminary in Charlotte, gave the commencement address. A reception followed in the parish hall.

The evening prior to the commencement a festive banquet was hosted by Cummins Seminary and was held at the Alfred Williams Community Center in North Charleston which honored the new graduates and celebrated its alumni. The keynote speaker at the banquet was Dr. W. Franklin Evans, President of Vorhees College in Denmark.

Cummins Seminary was founded by Col. Peter Fayssoux Stevens who was a Citadel graduate, president of the Citadel, and former Confederate Army officer. Stevens founded Cummins Seminary for the purpose of training and educating former slaves and sons of slaves for the ordained ministry of the Reformed Episcopal Church of the South. This year marks the 142nd year that Cummins Seminary has been a biblical, evangelical, and institution rooted in the Anglican tradition. In its pursuit of excellence, Cummins Seminary seeks to equip a new generation of church leaders with the theological foundation to meet the spiritual, emotional, and physical needs of communities through the Gospel of Jesus Christ. For more information on the seminary, go to or call 843-873-3451.

Cummins Seminary celebrates graduation

Dr. W. Franklin Evans, Dr. Julius Barnes, Burnie Barnes, Bishop Alphonza Gadsden, Hester Gadsden, Sandra Capers, Marilyn McKinley, Rev. Lorraine Bradley, Bishop William White and Vivian White.