Summerville’s Reed Charpia is being inducted into the South Carolina Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Charpia is one of nine people selected for induction as part of the 2019 Hall of Fame class, which is the sixth group of coaches selected for the honor. The association announced its new inductees this week. A banquet to honor these coaches is scheduled for 7 p.m. Dec.13 at the Crown Reef Resort, 2913 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach.

Charpia played for legendary coach John McKissick at Summerville High School and later joined the Green Wave staff as an assistant. During a long coaching career, he served as a head football coach at James Island, Irmo, Midland Valley, Bennettsville, Marlboro County and Woodland high schools.

Charpia won 240 games and led James Island to the 1974 Class AAA state championship. He later led Irmo to the 4A state title game and a state runner-up performance that earned him his first of two consecutive state Coach of the Year awards.

Charpia earned head coaching appointments at both the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas and North-South all-star games. Following the 2010 season, he stepped down as a head coach to go work under his son, Rusty, on the Brookland-Cayce High School staff.

Charpia also made his mark on the Newberry College Football program as both a player and a head coach.

In three seasons as an athlete with the team, he received numerous accolades. As a senior in 1964, he was named Newberry’s Outstanding Back after leading the team in rushing, receiving, total offense, kick return yardage, and scoring. He also played four seasons for the Newberry Baseball team, was named Who’s Who Among Students in America’s Colleges and Universities, and earned distinction with the Outstanding Young Men of America.

Charpia embarked on his coaching career immediately after graduation. In 1978, he returned to his alma mater and was named Coach of the Year in both the SAC-8 and NAIA District 6 in his first year at the helm. Charpia took over a program that had finished 2-7-1 and tied for last place in the league the season before and coached it to a 7-3 finish and third-place finish in the SAC-8. He coached the team for four seasons in all, winning 21 games en route to becoming the first Newberry coach since 1916 to finish his career with a winning record.

South Carolina Football Coaches Hall of Fame 2019 Class

Dennis Botts

Calhoun Falls and Abbeville

  • Record was 189-84
  • - Won two state championship in Abbeville (1991 & 1996) and two upper state championships (2000 & 2002)
  • Football Field at Abbeville named in his honor

Burney Bourne

Cheraw, Socastee, Waccamaw

  • Coached at Cheraw for 22 years compiling a record for 179-96
  • Won two state championships at Cheraw (1979 & 1993) and one lower state championships (1992)

JR Boyd

Lamar, Laurens

  • Record was 221 — 88
  • Won three state championships at Lamar and two lower state championships

Reed Charpia

James Island, Irmo, Newberry College, Midland Valley, Bennettsville, Marlboro County, James Island, Woodland

  • Won 240 games
  • Won a state championship at James Island (1974) and one lower state championship
  • - Played and coached for John McKissick at Summerville High

Bob Hanna

Five schools in N.C. and Irmo

  • Record at Irmo 163-93
  • Won three upper state championships (2002, 2004 & 2006)

Chris Miller

Broome, Byrnes, Spartanburg

  • Won 170 games
  • Won five state championships (2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2014)
  • Team has been nationally ranked eight times

Bob Prevatte


  • 1960, 1961 Coach of the Year
  • Record 119-29-11
  • Started the Gaffney Football powerhouse program
  • In 2007, The Bob Prevatte Foundation was started by his former players to help deserving seniors to go to college

Allen Sitterle

Spartanburg, Daniel, Lexington

  • Coached in four different states
  • Record of 334-101
  • Won six state championships (four in S.C.) and three state runner-up titles

Jame “Nate” Thompson

Choppee, Carvers Bay

  • Record 176-79
  • Won two state championships at Carvers Bay (2000 & 2006) and three lower state championships (2001, 2008, 2013)