Basketball all-region teams announced

Summerville senior Mark Mazyck has been named to the Region 8-AAAAA Boys Basketball All-region Team.

Fort Dorchester received two of the top honors for the 2018-19 Region 8-AAAAA Basketball All-region Teams list.

After averaging 13.3 points and eight rebounds per game this season, Fort Dorchester sophomore Aujea Bowman has been named the Region Player of the Year for girls’ basketball. Her coach, Cesurian Champagne, has been named the girls’ basketball Region Coach of the Year. Fort Dorchester only lost one region game en route to claiming the region championship this season.

Seniors Au’Zhane Allard and LaTerrlyn LeShore also represent Fort Dorchester on the girls’ all-region team. Others making the team were Vanessa Blake and Katie Zailski of Ashley Ridge, Shelby Sanders and Carya Manick of Summerville, Anaze’ Ravenel and Kristen Jenkins of West Ashley and Shanece Mitchell of Stall.

West Ashley’s Kenyatta Jenkins was named the boys’ basketball Region Player of the Year while his coach, Ronnie DuPre, was named the Region Coach of the Year. Devin Ramsey and Peter Musci also represent West Ashley on the all-region team.

Others making the team were Jalin Williams and Ahmad Brown of Ashley Ridge, Antoine Parker and Mason Grant of Fort Dorchester, Mark Mazyck of Summerville and Jalen Bailey and Romelle Grant of Stall.

Fort Dorchester senior Jordan Aluyan has been named the Region Player of the Year for Wrestling. After winning a region title for his weight class, Aluyan won a state championship and was named the 5A Senior Wrestler of the Year during the North-South All-star Classic Wrestling Match.

Stall’s John Locke was named the Region 8-AAAAA Wrestling Coach of the Year.

Joining Aluyan on the all-region team are Ashley Ridge’s Benjamin Singletary, Jayce Rutelonis, Jarred Valmores, Colin Radlein, Jacob Simmons and Kamryn Petrick; Fort Dorchester’s Matteo Vargo, RayShawn Vargo, Chandler Amaker, Josh Driggers and Hunter Ellis; Summerville’s Aidan Jurey, Reco Robinson, Ben Treadway, Will Jones, Parker Warder and Zach Jurey; West Ashley’s Advanta Broderick and Jaxavier Legare; and Stall’s Marshall Stevens.